Car Insurance in Michigan
The Detroit-Windsor Tunnel, finished in 1930, stretches for nearly a mile, and handles up to 29,000 vehicles every day. Outside of Motown, there are wonderful roads that will take you through places like Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, Lansing, Flint, Kalamazoo, Troy and Warren, tucked between the Great Lakes. Get a Michigan car insurance quote with GEICO.
Prepare your vehicle for winter driving in Michigan.
It’s important to be sure you drive carefully during inclement weather. Your car should be prepared and properly winterized and contain the essential items to keep you safe.Your best bet is to equip your car with a good set of winter tires.
Michigan Car Insurance Coverage
The minimum requirements for car insurance in Michigan are:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident*
- Property protection: $1 million
- Personal injury protection: Unlimited with a $0, $300 or $500 deductible
*These coverages can be rejected in writing.
Michigan Car Insurance Discount
Michigan drivers should have auto insurance that delivers exceptional service along with great value. GEICO offers a variety of Michigan car insurance discounts. Discounts on auto insurance available in the state of Michigan include:
- New Vehicle Discount
- Good Student Discount
- Good Drive Discount
- Multi-Policy Discounts
Planning to travel to Canada?
Driving between Michigan and Canada is allowed through four border crossings. If you plan to cross the border, you’ll need a U.S. Passport, U.S. Passport Card, or an Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL). EDLs cost $45, and can be obtained directly from the Michigan Secretary of State’s office. An EDL will allow you to cross the border without needing a passport. Your GEICO insurance ID cards will be sufficient proof of insurance in Canada.
Teen Drivers in Michigan
Michigan teens looking to get their driver’s licenses should become familiar with Michigan’s teen driving laws. Teen drivers who have completed the first segment of driver’s education can get a Level 1 Learner’s License at age 14 years, 9 months. After driving for six months with at least 50 supervised hours (10 of which at night), teens can get a Level 2 Intermediate License if they are 16 years old.
Michigan Driving Resources
Michigan Registration Information
New Michigan residents must immediately title and register their vehicles at a Secretary of State branch office and turn in the title from their previous home state.
. Michigan will issue a registration only for the vehicle. This will allow Michigan to issue a license plate without converting the out-of-state title to a Michigan title.
read more: www.timesofworlds.com